Danny Gatton - Grog and Tankard
Washington, D.C. - 1989 - CD-R2 - SB 6

Disc 1:

  1. Good Rocking Tonight
  2. Cherokee
  3. Blues Newburg
  4. Mustang Sally
  5. Lotta Lovin'
  6. Pretty Blue
  7. Hey Good Looking

Disc 2:

  1. Shake Rattle and Roll
  2. Harlem Nocturne
  3. Sea Cruise
  4. Irristable You
  5. Sky King
  6. Red Label
  7. Today I Started Loving You Again
  8. Fingers on Fire

Geetarz Comments: Cut in "Red Label" (probably cas flip).

Dime User 'KStyle': "Danny's in great shape here, very relaxed with the small crowd (many of whom he obviously knows), and plays some typcially jaw-dropping stuff. There's a full horn section, which does cut into DG's solo time a bit but also inspires him to occasional new heights, his ridiculously creative ear using some of their voicings and making really unique lines out of the harmonizations. So few git players ever mixed so many classic rock and blues riffs with a jazz mind that really understood how chords are put together; dare I say, it's Bird-esque, about as high a compliment as I can think of for any improviser. A joy to hear this one; the sound and mix are near perfect, a fine sbd indeed, the balance just a tad to the left, and above all the band play their asses off. All in all this is one of the best Gatton tapes I've heard, easily top ten. "